Skip to content

Uh….bleugh.

July 5, 2011

At first, this post was gonna go like this:

Dear Sir or Madam Barred Owl,

I was initially disturbed to see the large, furry sac you hacked up in our yard, but I quickly realized it meant that you were still around and apparently eating well. Since the BF mowed the lawn yesterday and I found it early this morning, you must have been sitting at your favorite tree last night.

I hope you will forgive me for finding your eating habits unpleasant, as I really do love having you here in our yard. Please feel free to keep the rodent population down however you see fit, and although I’d prefer to cease finding furry sacs of digested animal fur, if it means you still call our trees home, I’m happy to come across them.

Sincerely,

An Owl Lover

And I’d be happy, right? Because it’d mean our Barred Owl was still hanging around and finding tasty morsels to eat. As long as I don’t concentrate on what they eat and the fact that I’m sure the cute furry population has gone down around here, I’m really really happy to see any sign of our owlie neighbors.

Now that the windows are shut because it’s just too hot outside, I don’t hear them calling to one another anymore. It’s hard to sleep without that sound actually.

But here’s the thing: that’s not an owl ‘pellet’. It’s a discarded moth cocoon.

So now I’m just mad.

That thing is freakin’ HUGE. It’s like the size of my thumb. You know what that means?!?!?!?!

Ginormous moths will be laying eggs all over everything, which means…

Ginormous caterpillars.

You know what ginormous caterpillars EAT?!?!?!?!

My plants.

Stinking FL bugs man. I’m telling you. They are absolutely conspiring to ruin my gardening.

Earlier, a grasshopper went for the two ‘Peace’ rosebuds that were going to regale me with their gorgeousness. Then it stripped my mulberry tree.

And now I’m going to have enormous caterpillars eating every single planty thing I have in the yard.

At least we’ve been getting a ton of rain lately. Things were looking pretty brown and crispy there for a bit.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 11:08 am

    Oh no! I have been fighting the giant snake like caterpillars also, and I will be doing a post soon on the crazy huge grasshoppers. I feel your pain.

    • July 6, 2011 12:40 am

      The moths and caterpillars are one thing, but grasshoppers? OMG they terrify me! Does WV have freakishly enormous bugs too?

  2. July 6, 2011 10:11 am

    Florida bugs do indeed stink. Too bad owls don’t eat those…

Leave a Reply

