Skip to content

Chicken and Northern Bean….Something

July 4, 2011

I don’t know what to call it other than really, really good.

It ended up being something like a soup, which wasn’t what I was going for, but it was tasty so it doesn’t matter really. I laid off the veggies a bit for the BF who is notoriously picky about vegetables.

So our grocery store had split chicken breast on sale for $1.29/lb which is an awesome price for meat and of course I stocked up while it was on sale.

I used one of the packages of split chicken breast (which has the skin and bones still, but also includes the tenderloin so it’s a lot of meat); each package had just over two pounds of meat in it.

First, I coated the bottom of my dutch oven with some olive oil with a pat of butter and warmed two cloves of crushed garlic and a bit of red pepper flakes on low heat til I could tell by the smell that the oil absorbed the flavor. Then I removed the garlic to avoid burning it, because burned garlic is super bitter and you don’t want that. Turn the heat up to medium.

Next, I patted the chicken breast dry and sprinkled it with salt and pepper, and placed it in the pot to sear for six minutes, until it was nice and brown. While the skin side was searing, I sprinkled the chicken with paprika. I drained a bit of the fat after the chicken was as brown as I wanted it, then flipped the breasts over and poured four cups of chicken broth in.

I added a cup and a half of northern beans that I’d soaked this morning and an onion cut into wedges. I also added four other crushed garlic cloves. Cover the pan and let simmer on low for an hour. I didn’t open the pan often, but several times throughout the hour I spooned some of the broth over the chicken.

After an hour, I flipped the breasts over and cooked for another hour. Then I added three carrots cut into rounds and let cook for thirty minutes, then added half a cup of acini di pepe (tiny pasta that bf loves) and cooked for another fifteen minutes.

________________________________

So here are the ingredients all nicely organized:

2 split chicken breasts

olive oil

paprika

salt and pepper to taste

six garlic cloves

red pepper flakes

4 c chicken broth

1 onion

1/2 c acini di pepe or other tiny pasta

1 1/2 c northern beans, soaked

3 carrots

________________________________

It made about six servings. We have a bunch leftover, and I might end up making it into a more vegetable-y soup with chopped spinach and broccoli and all sorts of tasty plants.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 11:11 am

    Sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

