Skip to content

Mmm…Hashbrowns!

July 1, 2011

I don’t know if I’m the only one who could never figure out how to get good hash-browns at home, but just in case, I’m sharing the ‘secret’ with you. Or, how I do it anyway.

It’s not really a recipe, I just noticed that grated potatoes were still soggy when I cooked them on a griddle or in a skillet, so I messed with it a bit til I figured it out.

Super simple: all you do is grate potatoes – I use red potatoes because they have a great texture for this (not too crumbly, a fairly high sugar content so the outside crisps up, and a good amount of starch so it keeps some potato-ey texture).

Oh also: I use the smallest size holey thing. They cook quicker that way.

Next, put some butter in a skillet or on a griddle and heat it on medium til it gets nice and hot.

Then, take a *clean* dishtowel, set the grated potatoes in it, and squeeze out all the moisture you possibly can. Sprinkle the grated potatoes over the hot butter and let sit for a few minutes, until it browns to your liking. Then flip it over and do the same on the other side.

Done!

Personally, I like to add finely minced onions to mine, but BF likes his plain so I don’t usually make them that way.

If you do add onions, depending on how much you add, you may want to squeeze out the moisture from those as well. Onions have a lot of water in them.

You could go really crazy and add a bunch of stuff to them: green peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, breakfast sausage, eggs, etc. But then it wouldn’t be ‘hash-browns’. It’d be ‘hash’. Or something.

Or just, you know…

really, really good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 6:21 pm

    I’m going to have to try this. I love potatoes in any shape or form.

Leave a Reply

