Skip to content

A Matter of Taste

June 27, 2011

I haven’t done much posting lately, I know.

We’ve actually been busy. Like, with things other than the incredibly exciting life of a Crappy Gardener (haha!).

The other day, we had to make the trek way up past Dade City to pick up a very interesting….thing (?) for a car. Cars and car things fall under the category of Man Stuff in our household, so I really don’t know what it is. It’s metal.

Anyway, on the way back, since we were going to go right through the area of downtown Dade City with all the awesome antique shops and the sweet little cafes, we decided to stop at one of our favorites. It’s called A Matter of Taste and is the best little place. I mean, in my opinion. And bf’s.

Unfortunately, their website is having a few glitches and even though it doesn’t list their evening hours, they do have them. I believe they re-open at 5pm and I know they don’t close until 8pm.

I didn’t have my camera with me this past time otherwise I would have gladly taken pictures of the deliciousness we had. Bf got a pulled pork sandwich and french fries (seriously, best french fries ever.); I got Ybor Chicken and rice: chicken with veggies in tomato sauce over yellow rice, and a side of black beans, plus fried plaintains, which were pretty new to me. And actually really good. The servings are HUGE! And the prices are very reasonable, anywhere from $6 to $14.

It was so tasty. If you’re ever in downtown Dade City – which is totally worth the drive, they have wonderful stores and equally wonderful restaurants – you should really give them a try. Each time we’ve gone, the owners have been so very nice, and this past time their son was our server, and he is just the nicest boy ever.

Sadly, there have been some recent victims of the current economic situation and I was bummed to see some of the stores closed. That’s one of the worst things about this depression (I will not call it a ‘recession’ because it just isn’t, I don’t really care what the MSM is saying): seeing the small business owners being forced out. The big companies don’t feel it as much, but it kills me to see Mom & Pop shops with their windows boarded up and the buildings gutted.

Haven’t seen too much of that in  Downtown Dade City luckily, they’ve still retained their small-town feel and every shop owner we’ve ever met has been super nice and very helpful and welcoming and just wonderful. You should definitely go check it out.

Here’s an excellent and well set-up website for: Downtown Dade City; if you click on the different sections in the black bar near the top, you can find out all that’s going on there this year.

We’ll definitely be going to the Christmas In July celebration, we try and make it out every year because it’s so fun. All the stores are open and tons of people are there, they offer deals and promotions and it’s just a great time.

ALSO! In September there’s the Antique Faire which is always a great time. You can find the coolest stuff there! All sorts of people come out and bring their best samples from their stores all over Florida, many times you can get great deals. For example, a few years ago we got a little fridge from the forties for $45. It’s awesome. Needs a bit of work, but still awesome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 7:00 pm

    You were so close to me! We are just south of Dade City. I didn’t know about the antique fair in Sept though. Let me know if you go, maybe I can meet you there!

    • June 28, 2011 1:49 am

      I will definitely let you know! We always have so much fun in Dade City, and the September Antique Faire is so great. We’ll have to meet up, that’d be fun!

Leave a Reply

