Skip to content

Turkey/Bean Burgers

June 18, 2011

They sound kinda gross there, huh? I promise they weren’t.

So the thing is, we are on a tight budget. I frequently do things to make our meat stretch quite a lot so that I can freeze the leftovers for another meal. Before I started having reactions to anything soy, I used to mix tofu with ground meat to stretch it. Now that I can’t have it though, I primarily use beans.

For these burgers, I used white beans. I’ve seen them referred to both as cannelini beans and as northern beans. This past time I used canned but one day when I have some foresight I’ll soak my own.

This was just thrown together in an effort to get a quick meal on the table, so next time I’ll probably add some parmesan, or if I want a Greek-type burger I’ll use spinach, red onion and feta, etc.

Anyway, they were really very good and I know I’ll make them again.

Before I forget, BF had ketchup and mustard on his which I tried and thought was repulsive. I had sriracha sauce on mine and thought it was awesome.

Here’s what I did:

********************************

1 lb ground turkey

1 14oz can northern/cannelini beans, drained and rinsed

1 large egg

1 c seasoned bread crumbs

2 tsp dried red chili flakes

2 tsp sea salt

ground pepper to taste

First, drain and rinse the beans, then mash them in a large bowl. I didn’t want to see whole beans in the burgers so I mashed them very well. Next, add the ground turkey, egg, bread crumbs, pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Mix together. I use my hands, it’s easier.

On the stove, heat your preferred oil (I use olive oil and butter) to medium-high heat. Form your patties.

Burgers made entirely of meat will tend to shrink during the cooking process, but I found that mine shrank very little this time, and I think it was the use of the beans that made the difference. I cooked them for approximately 5-6 minutes on each side as we like our burgers brown and crispy on the outside.

It made nine burgers and would have made more if I’d been less generous with the patties. I was expecting them to shrink much more than they did. Picky BF was happy with them and enjoyed them, and I did as well.

Had I been a better gardener I would have had some lovely home grown tomatoes to go on my tasty burgers, but sriracha sauce was yummy enough.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

