Skip to content

Peace Rose Bush

May 24, 2011

This morning, after playing in the water with The Bear (we still haven’t turned the air on so our house is warm. I dribbled some water on his neck in the bathtub to cool him down and he loved it!), I went outside to water the plants and take a look at the planting bed, and I found that my Peace Rose bloom looked like this:

There’s some kind of creepy-crawly in it, maybe a spider? I was thinking of chasing it away so I could take a prettier picture, but then I thought the better of it.

I didn’t know the bloom’s bi-colors would be so striking. I think they’re beautiful, and I can’t wait for them to really start producing flowers! Aren’t they lovely? I wish you could smell them. They smell exactly the way you’d think a rose should smell. Not too cloyingly sweet, not spicy and green, but perfume-like and very strong.

No wonder the creepy-crawly is hiding in there, he’s got the prettiest house on the block!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 1:06 pm

    This rose is beautiful! I don’t think I have ever seen a Peace Rose. Very nice.

    • May 25, 2011 6:37 pm

      Thanks, Debbie! I hadn’t realized it would be so pretty. The picture on the bag when I bought it was lovely, but it didn’t do the real thing justice!

Leave a Reply

