Skip to content

New Home

May 9, 2011

Well, a new home for the peach tree, that is. We’re still in the same home.

BF helped me transfer it yesterday morning. I waited until after the peaches were all gone to move it because I didn’t want the fruit affected while the tree got used to being in the ground.

So here it is. BF helped me dig the hole twice as wide and twice as deep as it’s original container, then I mixed compost in equal parts to the original soil, I added a little bit of peat moss, and we planted it. I also mounded some ‘soil’ in a circle around it’s hole so when I watered it, it would soak into the soil instead of drifting all over the place.

I took two pictures: one so you could see how we planted it, and the next is so you can see how nicely it’s filling out.

Such a pretty tree. It’s almost two feet taller than it was when it came to live here, and in the ground it’s maybe seven feet.

It’s a little disappointing that I’ll have to replace my fruit trees when we finally get around to moving, but this tree is just too big and it needed to get into the ground. Besides, I’ve been visiting this website a lot and dreaming of all the lovely fruit trees they have that I would love to desperately try to keep alive.

I’ve decided I’m going to get blackberry plants so I won’t have to pay a crazy amount of money per pound for my very favorite berries. Or! OH! I could get Boysenberry plants which are really my favorites but they’re so hard to find!

In Other Garden News: my okra, beans and potatoes haven’t sprouted still. I think it’s the cool nights. Grrr.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 4:33 pm

    Nice tree. All my peach tress die 😦

    Your potatoes shouldn’t be effected by the cool too much. The Okra is certainly a warm weather plant though. Mine are about 4 inches high now and ready for transplanting.

  2. May 10, 2011 3:46 am

    Really? What the heck keeps happening to them?

    I did so bad with the garden this year. Plus everything’s up in the air as far as moving and stuff so I didn’t want to build a big elaborate thing and then have to leave it. As it is I’ll already lose my roses and a peach tree. My fig is in a container but it isn’t producing, and I’m going to try and keep my other peach tree in a container for as long as I can. We’ll see how that one goes. The grapes are in the ground but I’m going to order some different varieties anyway, right now I’m just using them as a sort of learning experience.

Leave a Reply

