Skip to content

Mulberry Tree

May 7, 2011

Last year when I got those Cecile Brunner climbing roses, I was given a mulberry tree for free. I had no idea what to do with it, and I thought I’d killed it when I forgot to water it for a while. Turns out it survived and is flourishing.

Watch now that I’ve put some effort into it, it’ll kick the bucket.

Anyway it was getting a tiny bit too big for it’s teeny pot so I switched it to a five-gallon paint bucket. Yay for free paint buckets!

Oh yeah: my parents gave me these sweet gardening gloves for Easter. Awesome, right?

I filled the bottom 2-3in of the bucket with sand from our yard to catch the excess water, and topped that with a mix of compost and peat moss.

Here’s the pot I had it in, it’s way too big to stay in there.

And here it is in its new bucket. Let’s hope I don’t kill it and it gets nice and big and supplies us with lovely mulberries. Eventually. When it gets big enough.

Next it’ll be the peach trees, then the Hass avocado.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 7:08 am

    I bought a Mulberry tree this spring. It is the kind that is supposed to ever flourish, or have berries all the time. It had several berries on it when I got it and as they ripened we picked them and ate them. They are wonderful! We have been waiting for several weeks for more berries to appear. But apparently it only made berries BEFORE I bought it.

  2. May 8, 2011 3:57 pm

    I will look for that fertilizer. It looks like I am not giving it enough water also. It has been such a dry spring.

    Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

