Skip to content

Here It Is

May 5, 2011

I managed to take a picture of the kind of ant that bit me, and I’m posting it because I sound like more of a wuss than usual saying how much an ant bite hurt. I looked it up and found that it was most likely an Imported Brazilian Fire Ant. Apparently they’ve been hitching rides on fruit shipments. It’s cool, I can walk again.

They even look mean, don’t they?

Our native ones are about four or five times smaller. Here’s a picture.

My camera’s not great so getting a close-up of these guys wasn’t possible. Anyway if you see a monster-sized red ant, get the heck away from it before it bites you. It hurts.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 9:44 am

    Jeez Louise! That ant is a monster!

  2. May 5, 2011 11:43 am

    Holy cow! I am allergic to fire ants! I hope I don’t run into these guys! Do you have a mound or did you just see the one?

  3. May 5, 2011 12:29 pm

    Sheesh, FL is chock full of fire ants! Those cute pink boots should help though 😉 I hope those evil suckers haven’t made it to your area!

    It was a mound, it’s the only one of them so far, but there are a ton of mounds with the tiny, native ants.

  4. May 5, 2011 8:16 pm

    Why I like an area with defined seasons other than a bit cooler and/or warmer as the case maybe 🙂 Gets rid of all those imported creepy crawlies…. The Asian beetles and wandering armadillos are bad enough 🙂

    We wont discuss zebra muscles either.

    Glad your foot is better!!!!

    • May 5, 2011 10:10 pm

      I totally agree with you. Last year we had a really hard freeze (for FL) and it knocked out a lot of the bugs we normally have problems with. We have a few armadillos but I have chicken wire surrounding my garden and everything’s in containers so they can’t get at them.

      Just looked up zebra muscles: that sucks!

      Thanks, I’m glad as well lol.

Leave a Reply

