Skip to content

Grape Update!

May 3, 2011

I took several more photos of that Muscadine Grape cluster so you wouldn’t have only this terrible one to go by.

Here’s the vine in its new home on the south east corner of the garden structure. This should be a good place for it to climb up the chicken wire while also allowing any tallish veggies like indeterminate tomatoes and squash vines to grow on the north and east side, where the sun hits in the mornings. I found that afternoon sun here is just too strong for most plants, and last year the tomatoes did really well with the diffused light the tarp we use as a roof creates.

I planted it slightly raised above the normal ground level so when I watered it the water would have a tiny moat to sit in. The peat moss I mixed in with the compost and regular sand makes it take a long time for the water to be absorbed.

Here’s a better close-up of a Muscadine grape cluster. And a finger. I grow those occasionally, they make good snacks.

It’ll be interesting to see how many grapes make it. I imagine that once they start to turn their blackish-purple, the birds will go after them. Also I think I’ll have to put up some more chicken wire to cover the gaps around the door and the top opening that I left if the birds start to get more interested. So far they’ve left the garden structure pretty well alone, but I think I’ll be tempting fate leaving fat clusters of grapes hanging right next to an opening to my not-a-greenhouse.

Especially when I grow tomatoes again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 9:30 am

    I thought they were bigger until I saw the finger. That is very cool! Jelly, wine, all sorts of goodies in the future.

    • May 3, 2011 8:55 pm

      Right? They’re really tiny right now; when they get to their full size, are about and inch at their widest. They’re pretty large. Here’s hoping they produce for me!

Leave a Reply

