Skip to content

Muscadine Grapes

April 28, 2011

I’ve mentioned these a few times without ever showing a picture, so I felt like I should change that.

This is what my grape vine looks like this year. Last year I’d cut it back severely because I thought I killed it and I figured if I cut it back, there’d be less chance of disease spreading and it’d have the best shot of growing back again. About a month ago I noticed a tiny little shoot coming up from what looked like dry, dead sticks in the container. But they just kept getting bigger, and now it’s grown exponentially larger than it was. I’m not sure where to plant it, maybe on the south wall of the garden structure so it won’t block any of the sunlight in the north, where I like to plant my tomatoes (except not this year because I didn’t start early enough).

So here is my muscadine grape vine. I’m thinking if I get enough of a harvest, I’m going to do jelly or something, because to be honest, I didn’t love the grapes last year. The skin is very thick and tough compared to other grapes. I will have to check and see if I can grow any other types down here, I know they can be tricky in such heat.

The fact that I don’t love the flavor of the fruit doesn’t really take away from the beauty of the plant, in my opinion. I love the leaves and the graceful way it climbs.

Oh really quick: I’m apologizing for the terrible focus of the pictures. I have shaky hands and I was being attacked by mosquitoes, which didn’t help.

Not really sure how to combat those aphids...I haven't seen any ladybugs around lately but the ants sure don't like 'em climbing all over their vine.

This is very fuzzy, but I wanted to give you an idea of what a muscadine grape cluster looks like. Kinda neat, huh?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

