Skip to content

Grapevine Wreath

April 18, 2011

Months ago, I mentioned the great grapevine debacle in which I’d excitedly bought a muscadine grape vine not realizing we already had a monster one in our backyard. This came after I’d bought a Carolina Yellow Jessamine without realizing we had those growing all over our fence. And after falling head over heels in love with a honeysuckle vine that turned out to be the invasive Japanese variety.

Anyway…I got this idea from The Swampbilly Ranch. Mrs. Swampbilly posted a lovely Confederate Jasmine wreath project that I thought was beautiful. But, we don’t have any Confederate Jasmine. Although after seeing her wreath and smelling the jasmine that’s currently in bloom everywhere around here, I’m convinced that we need an awful lot of it. I’ll work on that.

What I DO have in abundance are wild grape vines. They could actually be Muscadine, I wouldn’t know. The person who used to live next door to our house planted them a bajillion years ago and they went crazy. Though actually they’re pretty well behaved compared to some of our vines that pop up everywhere and threaten to take over our lives completely. They stay in their own little area minding their own business and happily climbing all over the fence, azaleas, citrus and oak trees they live next to.

So with images of Mrs. Swampbilly’s beautiful jasmine wreath floating around in my head, I went out to do my daily check and watering of the garden and decided to do my own little wreath project. All I did was snip some long vines, twist them together, weaving them among one another to get them to stay nicely without any twine or fastening, and hung the finished wreath on the not-a-greenhouse. Here it is:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Robert permalink
    April 18, 2011 11:04 pm

    Honey, it’s looking good. Maybe we can finish one of your other projects so you can add to your blog.

    • April 18, 2011 11:10 pm

      I love that you’re so supportive, however grudgingly it is lol. I pick the rose bower if you’re up for it!

  2. April 19, 2011 4:42 pm

    I think it looks great! Next time you have company coming over you can just make a fresh one from the yard. Thanks for the link!

    • April 19, 2011 6:19 pm

      Absolutely! I loved your idea, I just didn’t have any confederate jasmine, and the yellow isn’t in bloom right now. But the grapevine is beautiful on my not-a-greenhouse, thanks for posting such a pretty project!

Leave a Reply

