Skip to content

Sautéd Teriyaki Veggies Over Rice

April 9, 2011

Throughout the course of my relationship with bf, I’ve learned a few things. The biggest thing is that living with someone who is a picky eater can be challenging. Well, challenging for me. I say that because I don’t force feed him things he doesn’t like, nor do I cook only things I like, no matter if he eats them or not. So normally, I’m the one who misses out on healthy foods because otherwise it would mean that bf  eats nothing but pre-packaged frozen meals and canned soup while I have all the healthy stuff.

Frankly, that would not make me feel very good. I like cooking for him and making him dinner and taking care of him (don’t tell him that, it would go to his head).

Eventually though I get sick of all the meat, pasta and potatoes, and really start craving veggies. It’s a blessed relief when I go to my vegetarian/vegan (hubby is vegan) friend’s home and she cooks meals. Finally, veggies! Except they do lots of soy and I can’t have it which is a bummer because I love tofu, tempeh, soy sauce, etc. I will occasionally do teriyaki sauce even though it can bother me if I have too much of it.

So I’m posting one of my favorite ‘need a break’ meals that’s a go-to for when I just can’t stomach the same old thing again.Like everything I make, it’s really versatile and simple, and the exact measurements will probably be off because I never use exact measurements in anything other than baking. I just eyeball it, but I’m trying to figure the exact measurements for people who do cook that way.

________________________________

1 c rice (jasmine, long grain, basmati, you could even use brown but amend the cook time for that)

4-5 carrots, peeled and sliced into rounds

6-7 mushrooms (button or portobello, or even shiitake if you have them. These cook waaay down), sliced

1 bell pepper, cut into about 1/4in slices

1 med onion, cut in half and then cut into about 1/4in slices

2 garlic cloves, minced finely

1 1/2 c broccoli florets

1 tbs teriyaki sauce

1 tsp Sriracha sauce (hot chili sauce, definitely optional)

1-2 tsp cooking oil (I used refined coconut, sometimes unrefined but it will add a coconut flavor)

______________________________

Cook your rice. I use a rice cooker because I stink at cooking it on the stovetop. I usually do a cup of rice to a cup and a half of water. It takes about thirty minutes.

While your rice is cooking, heat the oil in your pan over medium heat (very slightly less than medium is how I do it) and add the onions, garlic, carrots, broccoli and green peppers. If you’d like your carrots softer, just chop them up more. The smaller it is, the faster it will cook. I like my veggies a little firmer. Add the teriyaki sauce and cook for about ten minutes, stirring frequently.

Add the mushrooms last, cook for just under five minutes, stir in the Sriracha sauce, sprinkle with salt to taste. Serve over rice.

This makes way too much for me to have in one sitting, so I usually save some for leftovers, or even freeze it in individual size servings if I end up making way too much. Like I said, I never use measurements so sometimes there’s an overabundance of the tastiness.

Sometimes I’ll nix the teriyaki, add a bit of cilantro and Thai cooking spices (I have a spice mix in a grinder, it has coriander, sesame, garlic, lemon peel, Kaffir lime leaves) and I enjoy that too. It’s up to you.

Don’t forget to compost your veggie scraps!

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

