Skip to content

CrockPot Pot Roast

April 7, 2011

Today is CrockPot Pot Roast day, just in case you missed the title of my post. I should perhaps explain that our oven broke a while ago and we never fixed it. It makes the house hot and neither one of us can really be bothered to fix it since it isn’t an essential for us.

After making this recipe, I’ve concluded that I’ve been making pot roast WRONG for the past Many Years. It’s so uncomplicated and so simple. Here it is:

1.5lb beef roast

2 medium onions

5-6 carrots

new red potatoes (however many you feel like, I used golf-ball sized ones and the bf is crazy about them, so I did eight and quartered them)

1 c sliced mushrooms

3 cloves garlic

2 handfuls green beans, rinsed and cut in half

salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder

________________________________________

Slice one of the onions and line the bottom of your slow cooker with it, drizzle those with olive oil or refined (deodorized) coconut oil. Dust the roast with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder, then lay it on top of the onions. Drizzle that with oil as well. Set slow cooker to Low and let cook for 6 hours. Flip the roast after the first four.

Wash and slice the carrots, green beans, new potatoes and mushrooms, add to slow cooker. Peel garlic cloves, smash them with the flat side of your knife and drop ’em in the slow cooker. Stir the veggies into the juices from the meat and the first onion, then set the roast on top of the veggies you just added. I let the veggies cook down for about another two-three hours by the time all was said and done.

The water in the veggies and the meat made the perfect amount of gravy, but I did add a tiny splash of water, maybe about 1/4 cup about twenty minutes before serving on top of egg noodles. It was so tasty.

As an aside, I make my beef stew this way now as well. I don’t add any water anymore if I make it in the CrockPot, and there’s no longer any need to add a can of that Cream of Mushroom condensed soup that adds a funny flavor and too many calories (also I can’t do dairy or soy additives so that one’s out).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

