Skip to content

Apple Walnut Bread

March 30, 2011

I went to an estate sale not too long ago where I got some fabric, some other stuff, and a bread maker. I’d been wanting a bread maker but wasn’t sure how often I would use it, and because we’re living on an extremely tight budget, I thought spending upwards of $40 on something I wasn’t sure I was going to like just wasn’t a good idea. So when I happened upon one at this estate sale for only $5, I figured I’d take a shot.

I’m glad I did, because I’ve ended up using it quite a bit. It was very dirty looking when I bought it, but I took it home and gave it a really good scrubbing and it looks brand new.

So, today I’m posting the recipe given in the bread maker’s manual for Apple Walnut Bread. I made this the other night because Dear BF was going to be leaving on business and I know he loves banana bread (we didn’t have bananas) so I thought he’d probably like this too, and it’d be nice for him to have something in his stomach before spending the day traveling and working.

One more thing: keep in mind that I’m making this in a bread maker and not in the oven. I have no idea the temp and time you’d have to put it in there for, but I do know I stopped the baking process in the machine after about half an hour. It still had 24 minutes left to go, but I like things like that to be chewy instead of dry and crumbly. I bet this would work really well for muffins, mini-muffins or mini-loafs as well.

1 egg, room temperature

1 tbl milk, room temp

2 tbl oil

1/2 c sugar

1 c peeled and grated Granny Smith apples (I just used my box grater. Not the super tiny size, because all that does it juice it and leave you with a mess.) Do this step right before adding, as the apples will brown. One nice sized apple should do it.

1/2 c chopped walnuts

1 1/2 c all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp nutmeg (if using fresh ground, you might want to halve that amount. Mine had already lost a lot of potency but I could still taste it.)

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Add wet ingredients first, bake on ‘Quick Bread’ setting.

I changed mine up a tiny bit by adding about 1/4 tsp vanilla extract and some leftover pecans. It’s also really good with all sorts of dried fruits, the general idea being about a half cup dried fruit for this size recipe if you’re using that instead of fresh. I’ve just been playing around with it, everything’s come out great.

The Apple Walnut is also great still warm with a tiny bit of peanut butter, or cream cheese. Or plain, whatever floats your boat 🙂

Enjoy!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    March 30, 2011 4:05 pm

    Most Apple based bread is made with red apples, which I don’tr like. I’ll try this recipe though.. I love granny smiths…

  2. March 30, 2011 4:08 pm

    I don’t like red apples either, the only exception being Honey Crisp, which have a very short season. I think it’s the mealy texture of most apples, they’re just too soft for me. Honeycrisp are sooo good. If you haven’t tried those yet, you should 😉

  3. March 30, 2011 4:33 pm

    This sounds great! I wonder what would happen if you used applesauce and took out the oil…

  4. March 30, 2011 7:07 pm

    I think it would still be delicious. The oil just serves as a wetting agent and helps make it moist and chewy. I was considering supplementing the grated apples with a bit of apple juice if it didn’t come out to a cup, but I had enough so I didn’t do it. I think the next loaf will have cranberries and apricots 😉

Leave a Reply

