Skip to content

Revolutionary Legislation in Maine

March 21, 2011

I’ve never posted a news story before, nor my take on much happening in the news (mostly because I love my friends and want to keep them!) but today I’m going to bring you a news story that I found encouraging.

Food Freedom, a fellow WordPress blog, reported on March 9th:

SEDGWICK, MAINE – On Saturday, March 5, residents of a small coastal town in Maine voted unanimously to adopt the Local Food and Self-Governance Ordinance, setting a precedent for other towns looking to preserve small-scale farming and food processing. Sedgwick, located on the Blue Hill Peninsula in Western Hancock County, became the first town in Maine, and perhaps the nation, to exempt direct farm sales from state and federal licensing and inspection. The ordinance also exempts foods made in the home kitchen, similar to the Michigan Cottage Food Law passed last year, but without caps on gross sales or restrictions on types of exempt foods.

See their full report here.

Food Freedom is quite possibly one of the best sources I’ve found for accurately and eloquently reporting on food safety issues, in addition to  Organic Consumers Association.

I’ve linked to the OCA in the top right hand corner on this site. I hope you all will take a look at each site, learn a little, and pass it along to your friends. Our safety and the safety of our children depends on just a little reading, and just a little willpower.

In My Garden news, not a whole heck of a lot is going on. We’ve had a really trying and stressful few days so I haven’t had much time to garden and/or blog. I have a bunch of tomato seedlings going and nowhere to put them yet, and onions that may just be past the point of putting into the ground. I am currently soaking my bare root roses to prep them for planting (and promptly forgot which is which: it only matters because one of the three is a climber), and am hoping to make my merry way to the store in a few minutes to pick up some large buckets so I can put my tomatoes somewhere.

Anyway, happy Monday, it’d be lovely if those of you of the ‘praying’ persuasion would do so for us.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

