Skip to content

Just a little reminder….

February 11, 2011

That you’ll catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.

The level of vitriol people fling at each other never ceases to amaze me. I’m not one for censoring free speech or calling for ridiculous legislation (“Free speech for everyone; even douchebags!” – I have no idea where it’s from, sorry), but I do think we’ve forgotten the importance of having good manners. And definitely utilizing our common sense.

Should you be allowed to say mean things with the intent to publicly humiliate a person? Yeah, sure! But don’t expect people to like you, because the good ones won’t. Enjoy your crappy company with people just as nasty as yourself.

I doubt the person to whom this post is directed to will ever read this, and I don’t care. It would have been inappropriate to say what I wanted to when the situation that inspired this went down.

The slow burn inflicted by thoughtless remarks (said to someone I admire greatly)  bothered me until I remembered that that person is a bitter, unhappy, holier-than-thou type of person, and I don’t want to be wasting my time with people like that.

Contempt and resentment are close cousins, and they’re both ugly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

