Skip to content

I Haven’t Forgotten

February 1, 2011

To write blog posts, that is. My computer had a virus a few days ago and I had to return everything to the factory settings. It’s my own fault, I should have backed everything up, but to tell you the truth, I never thought what I had was all that important.

I mean, I had some blog posts waiting to be polished up, some photos I really would have liked to keep, some articles I was working on for a little freelance project, and some stories I’d written. Nothing all that good. But it did turn out to be more inconvenient than I’d thought it would be.

Luckily the stuff that really matters, like photos of my brother, weren’t on the computer but were actual tangible photographs. I’m not a huge fan of this intangible stuff. Digital books, photos and file storage weird me out. I don’t like it and I probably never will.

Anyway, I do have a few things that I wanted to write about so it’s all coming up. Some new recipes as well. I should really get on figuring out how to set up this blog so it’s a little easier to archive things and separate them.

As an aside, the virus I got showed up on my computer as antivirus.NET. I looked it up and apparently it gets onto your computer, immediately prevents you from accessing the internet and accosts you with little popup windows saying ‘such-and-such is infected’ and asking if you want to renew your virus protection. This is in the hope that you will pay them money thinking they will clear up your virus, and then they steal all your info and destroy your comp anyway.

The bf was around, so the resulting freak-out was smaller than normally would have been, and I just turned off the comp altogether until he helped me figure out how to fix it. There was an expensive trip to ‘The Best Place To Buy Electronics’ for a virus thingy and to ask how much it would cost their ‘Geeks’ to wipe it off my comp. After the smarmy turd we spoke to told me I would get back a ‘functioning machine,’ I decided it was worth it to me to wipe all that stuff off just so he wouldn’t get a dime from us. And it was.

So that’s why I haven’t been posting much. But I will. Especially about some really cool new friends with a very impressive garden setup.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

