Skip to content

New Friends

January 22, 2011

I remember my mother being an incredibly talented artist: she was great at drawing, stained glass, painting, she loved pastels, I remember a little bit of needlework, etc. There were at least a few times that she tried – in vain – to teach me to do a little bit of cross-stitching and latch-hooking. I think most girls, if they grew up kindof crafty, remember those bits of beautifully colored thread you could buy for cross-stitching. To me, they were just pretty and I never did anything more with them than braid them together and irritate my mother by wasting it all and leaving it tangled up and useless.

I probably wasn’t the easiest kid in the world to teach.

It wasn’t until a few years ago that I started getting interested in fiber arts, and even then I didn’t put much effort into learning anything. Michael’s sold some Learn To Knit and Crochet kits, and I bought one, thinking there was no way it could be all that hard. It was. So I gave it up and packed all my supplies away in my wooden chest, to be left untouched for another God-Only-Knows-How-Long.

After the Crappy Relationship that would rival the crappiest, after my life calmed down, after I realized I didn’t want to be the kind of person who knew no practical skills, after I found that I wanted to be Debbie Domestic, I decided to try it again.

I’m not that great, although T would tell you otherwise because she’s had her eye on my lovely grey scarf, but I am coming along. A very generous friend gave me some knitting needles, and along with my Grandmother’s crochet hook set, I have a decent cache of fiber art supplies. For my purposes anyway.

A few weeks ago, I came across a group of Fiber Artists that meet once a month to discuss their various projects and learn some new things. So I signed up. There were only two other women who had RSVP’d so I thought it would be a super small group.

In total I believe it was fifteen women, all with vastly more experience than myself. I was the youngest by about fifteen years, but I’ve always felt more comfortable with people much older or younger than myself so it was fine. Honestly, I loved it. The women were great: they were so welcoming, so interesting, so helpful. I even got a few compliments on my project, which is really encouraging.

I can’t wait to go to the next meeting. It’s once a month officially, but there are many other knitting and crocheting groups I learned about that meet much more often. I’m so excited!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

