Skip to content

The Crappy Garden in review

December 31, 2010

This year has been a particularly challenging one. Both in the garden and in life. Multiple car accidents, my brother’s death, our poor dog being put down, our cats being sick, etc. I know full well that compared to many others, I have it pretty good. But I must say that 2010 has presented me with bump after bump in what seems like a very long road. And at the end of the year, I’ve found that overall this year has been a year of growth. Not necessarily in my garden. I do have plans though, not to worry.

2011 will be a better year. It has to be, after all. The coming year will bring with it a spring pea and pole bean trellis (which was supposed to be for my grapevine but I changed my mind), maybe some companion planting, adventures in growing tomatoes from seed (which I royally screwed up last season), and a tentative expansion of my blog.

I would like to include more content, like photography and cooking. Maybe some crafts.

Once we get our financial situation in order, there will also be kindof an overhaul of the front yard. My Cecile Brunner climbing roses are begging to be planted on a pergola right outside our front door. Or I may put several kind of clematis on a pergola, since they do better in partial shade. Either way, there will be a huge flower garden.

I’ve been spending the last few weeks with a wicked cold that’s just starting to break, so my collection of seed catalogs has been keeping me company. Along with a couple knitting projects that my wonderful friend ‘E’ straightened me out with. I say ‘straightened out’ because everything I was knitting was coming out wonky and twisted til she showed me what I was doing wrong. That’s what I get for learning to knit out of a forty year old, poorly illustrated book.

The seed catalogs are always full of beautiful, colorful pictures of flowers and vegetables I only wish I could grow. I am learning.

In the spirit of learning new things, here are a few of the things I have come to the end of the year with:

  • I now know how to preserve acidic foods using a waterbath method
  • I know that I am capable of growing and harvesting food myself (including my favorite: tomatoes!)
  • I kindof know how to knit. I can make a scarf now!
  • I know what it is to feel that profound sense of loss that comes with the death of someone close to you.
  • I know that a dog being put down looks strangely peaceful, and that it can force one to deal head on with feelings that had been purposefully kept at arm’s length. Oddly, it took the experience of seeing Shadow take her last breath to make me finally get it that my brother is gone.
  • I learned about the fragile peace that one can reach through prayer and writing. It forces you to think about the why behind the feelings and make some sense of them. Actually, prayer and writing has brought the most healing so far, and I’m sure I’ll gradually make more progress.
  • On a much lighter note, I learned that I love Jeremy Brett as Sherlock Holmes, and have discovered that I love a number of authors previously unknown to me. This is good news as I was feeling that my reading list was sorrowfully short.

I hope that everyone has had a happy Christmas, and will have a happy and SAFE New Year. Here’s to 2011, and to counting one’s blessings, and to learning new things (though I hope 2011’s lessons will not be as harsh!).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Farmer Fred permalink
    January 1, 2011 10:09 pm

    Great website, I find it very informative. As a novice gardener it’s nice to find someone going though the same problems as myself. Keep up the good work and looking forward to reading more post. What are you planning on planting this season? I’m up in the air as far as my garden and thought it would be helpful to hear what you are planting.

Leave a Reply

