Skip to content

Preserving fresh basil

October 15, 2010

Since buying herbs from the store is expensive, and since I’ve actually been doing pretty good with my herbs, I’ve decided to preserve as much as I can myself. I still haven’t figured out how to navigate this blog crap so bear with me if it’s a little disorganized.

For basil, take a decent cutting, snip off the leaves, stack them on top of each other, roll into one another, and cut into ribbons. Then put those in a plastic baggie and freeze. They can be used just like fresh basil in any recipe. It’s super easy, and if you have a sunny windowsill (well, indirect sun anyway), you can probably do it at home if you don’t have a garden. Here it is in pictures, the cutting board is clean, just stained from tons of use. Thought I should clear that up.

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

