Skip to content

Looong Time

July 14, 2010

Wow. So. About two months. I’ve been pretty negligent I guess. Actually I’ve been pretty negligent about the garden as well. I don’t think my plants are too happy with me, although the eggplant seem to be doing really well without any attention. Anyway, here’s what’s been going on:

Let’s see. Since my last post, my not-mother-in-law was in a serious accident and luckily escaped harm. Had the idiot who plowed into her sped up/ slowed down AT ALL, there is a better than good chance that she would not have made it out of there alive. To everybody’s relief though, she is fine. We thought she’d shattered her hip, but thankfully it turned out to be just severe bruising.

Although, in case you are wondering, choosing ‘a good neighbor’ to be your insurance company may not be a wise idea, since they have been a nightmare to deal with. To make matters worse, the ‘person’ who hit my not-m-i-l called her husband, who had his high-powered attorney on the phone before he arrived at the scene, and of course their story changed to “It was her fault” all of the sudden. So they are now in the middle of a legal dispute.

We can add to that our own legal dispute with the man who totalled my car in January so he could get a quick buck. Super. I guess he didn’t expect to get the ONLY people in our neighborhood who aren’t swimming in money. As in, we have none. And no assets to speak of. I pray to God our wages (if I ever get any) aren’t garnished as a result of this douchebag con artist.

Worst of all though, and the biggest reason for my two month silence, is the death of my little brother. It happened five weeks ago, and that’s when my garden really stopped getting any attention. It freaking sucks and I haven’t felt like talking, let alone caring about caterpillars or eggplant, or tomatoes. Or blogging, because I am in A Mood.

On top of all of those things, I still have not been able to get hired out here, there is some major family drama going on, and there are several repairs that our house has been patiently waiting for. Well, okay. Not so patiently. And hurray! I can add yet another thing to my list of Things I Must Not Consume: soy. Yay mysterious pain and debilitating migraines. At least I know WHY. It’s really the very, very least of my worries.

Usually I think I do a good job of compartmentalizing my feelings so that I can handle things one at a time, only ‘feeling’ later, when my logic isn’t needed anymore. But right now, what with all the things I have weighing on my mind every single second of the day, I am getting overwhelmed with even the smallest things. Like watering the garden. Or washing the dishes. Or driving. Okay, especially driving.

Off to really launch my cosmetics business online, as well as candles and crafts. You know what’s really weird? I don’t think any single person who knew me when I was younger would have EVER thought I’d want to be out in the country, canning food and gardening. Anyway, I had to get all that off my chest. Try not to be too jealous of my freakin’ awesome tomatoes. Also they were delicious. Here ya go:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Teresa permalink
    July 15, 2010 3:51 pm

    Hey grappygardener, it’s good to read another post. Even through everything that happened you were still able to grow beautiful tomatoes!

    “All of these things seems to be creeping up on me. Like I do a good job of keeping these thoughts at bay most of the time, but after my brother’s death, it feels like each of those thoughts is a seed of some horrible, insidious weed. And I can try to manage it but lately it’s grown out of control, threatening to overrun the fragile peace I worked so hard to cultivate.”

    Beautiful writing but I am so sorry to know that you are feeling such intense things. Keep on growing your veggies, my friend, the rest of your life will grow and change soon too.

  2. Teresa permalink
    July 15, 2010 3:52 pm

    p.s. I am not trying to change your name from crappygardener to grappygardener.

  3. July 15, 2010 11:22 pm

    Lol, thanks T. If it wouldn’t come off as weird just for the sake of being weird, I might change the name of my blog to The Grappy Gardener. Made me laugh. Also thanks for the nice…you know…well-wishing and whatnot.

Leave a Reply

