Skip to content

Horrible weather and transplanted seedlings

March 13, 2010

I feel like I’m on the wrong end of a Stephanie Meyer novel. All the rain with none of the excitement.

It has rained for two solid days. While it’s grim looking outside, I can’t help being kindof thankful for it because it means the water level of our well will rise. There are enough people out here to justify the city putting in water connections, but they haven’t yet. They just keep building stuff out here that’s connected to our water supply, and now we’re suffering for it. The water level is so low here that we have seriously high concentrations of iron, which would normally be diluted of course. I wonder that we’re even allowed to use it actually, the other night I boiled some water for pasta, and it turned this bright orange color in the pot. Needless to say, I dumped it and used bottled.

So, it looks like this weekend will be a better time for us to get started on the garden structure. The weather forecast said mostly sunny for tomorrow, high of about 72F. I spent these last two days repotting my seedlings into larger peat pots and plastic containers because they were getting a little big.

Pink Girl tomato plant

So that one’s in a five gallon container lined with packing peanuts to help the drainage. I also took some pictures of the rest of the ones I have so far:

Peas, okra, spaghetti squash, echinacea

Misc seedlings

 

I’ve got some okra, marigold, brandywine tomato, chamomile, lupine, and some sweet corn seeds in there. Tomorrow I’ll post some pictures of us building the garden structure. Happy Gardening!

CG

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

